Tips for Clear Skin

We all want clear glowing skin all year long, but in these upcoming warm summer months, where makeup use is minimal, its even more ideal to have blemish free skin. I have never been the kind of person who NEVER washes their face or takes off their makeup, yet ALWAYS has clear skin. Instead, I’ve had to be very diligent about what products I use because of my sensitive skin. However, over the years I have learned that my skin is effected more by what I put IN my body, then what I apply to the outside.

For me, a healthy diet and the right supplements (supplements are KEY) have kept my face clear and glowing all year long. Here are a few of my favorite parts of my clear skin regime.

Image

A handful of almonds, a slice of watermelon, lots of green tea, oranges, carrots, spinach, figs, and any kind of whole grain, i.e. quinoa, oats, millet, barley, brown rice, corn, Rye.

Image

Starting the day off with a cup of hot water and lemon not only boosts your metabolism, but it helps flush out any fecal matter from the day before.

Image

Try to avoid the foods on the Nasties list, including caffeine (it causes the release of the hormone adrenaline, thus increasing the body’s level of stress), sugar (it has no nutritional value and gives the body a short-term boost of energy, resulting in a crash in blood sugar levels, and an increased risk of diabetes), processed foods, and greasy foods (which add unnecessary stress to the cardiovascular system, as well as clogging pores and arteries).

Image

I swear by avocados. Not only are they delicious and can go in any kind of dish, smoothie, or dessert, they are also great to apply as a face mask! One of my favorite avocado recipes is a dairy free chocolate pudding. I don’t consume any kind of dairy, but love the rich texture of pudding, and avocados give this dish the rich creamy texture I love.

Ingredients:

1/2-3/4 avocado, mashed

2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1-2 teaspoons honey or maple syrup

1/2 tablespoon sunbutter (or other nut butter)

1/8-1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients together (I have just been mashing/mixing with a fork or spoon, but putting the ingredients into a food processor would make it much more creamy).

Image

Finally, my #1 go to clear skin ingredient! Yogi Skin Detox Tea. It combines rose hips, green tea, dandelion root, red clover, and orange peel.

Leave a Reply

